Widgets Magazine

HETMA formalizes organization and elects inaugural Board of Directors

LOS ANGELES – The Higher Education Technology Managers Alliance (HETMA), founded in 2019 by Joe Way, PhD (University of Southern California) and BC Hatchett, M.A.Ed. (Vanderbilt University), has filed formal articles of incorporation as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization in the State of California. This move positions HETMA to further its mission of advocating for technology managers’ needs and their respective higher education institutions within the greater audiovisual industry, accounting for over $22.6B in global annual spend.

HETMA is dedicated to providing educational and networking opportunities to its members to empower and grow the influence of higher education as an industry vertical. A core belief is that all resources and services provided by HETMA are done so at no charge to their membership. Becoming a 501(c)(3) charitable organization furthers this goal, affording HETMA both legal protections and fundraising capabilities. HETMA’s membership has grown from its initial ten-member steering committee in 2019 to over seven hundred rostered members in 2021 drawing from a diverse range of colleges and universities from large, small, public, private, religious, 2-year, and 4-year institutions from around the globe. HETMA has already earned industry recognition by being voted as the Best Virtual Event of 2020 and forming key strategic partnerships with AV-industry organizations, manufacturers, and media outlets.

As its initial formal action, the Higher Education Technology Managers Alliance (HETMA) held an open call for nominations and vote of its membership to elect the first board of directors. The results are:

Executive Board
Chair, Board of Directors: Joe Way, University of Southern California
Vice-Chair, Board of Directors: BC Hatchett, Vanderbilt University
Secretary: Annie Foster, Elizabethtown College
Treasurer: Dean Wentworth, US Courts / Formerly, United States Military Academy West Point
At-Large, 3-Year: James King, Stockton University
At-Large, 2-Year: Erin Maher-Moran, Johns Hopkins University
At Large, 1-Year: Tim Van Woeart, Rutgers University

Committee Chairs
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Kayden Kassof, American University
Conference Committee: Jimmie Singleton, University of Southern CaliforniaHETMA Approved Program: Donovan Monday, West Virginia University
Membership: Mike Pedersen, Iowa State University
Regional Team Co-Chair: Craig Shibley, California Baptist University
Regional Team Co-Chair: Will DeWitt, College of Charleston
Communications: Lex Peters, University of Southern California
Focus Groups: Raj Singh, University of Southern California

HETMA’s key 2021-2022 initiatives include:
• Establishing the “HETMA Approved” products program.
• Commencing focus group partnerships with manufacturers.
• Advocating for diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives in higher ed and the AV industry.
• Establishing an AV buyers’ group for the higher education vertical.
• Furthering partnership opportunities.
• Hosting its fourth virtual conference.
• Hosting its first formal banquet and awards/recognition ceremony.
• Establishing area and regional networking groups.

About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.